What kind of visa do I need for Uganda?

Since 2016, an easy-to-use application form for applying e-visa has been introduced by the Uganda government. This online program made it possible for more than 200 eligible countries including Australia to complete the form in 15 minutes. Thanks to electronic visa (e-visa), Australian citizens now just wait for a short period of time rather than waiting in long lines for Embassies and Consulates.

Uganda Immigration Services offer 3 types of e-visa for Australian citizens to apply:

  • Tourist e-visa: This type of visa is valid for 3 months from the date of issuance for Australian citizens who wish to visit this beautiful country or do leisure activities such as exploring nature or visit their friends and relatives. They can travel to Uganda within 90 days with the help of tourist e-visa.
  • Transit e-visa: For Australian citizens who want to pass through Uganda. This e-visa is valid for 3 months from the issue date but Australian can only stay in Uganda for 7 days in total. During this time, travelers can take the advantage of short-term trips to explore the culture of Uganda
  • East Africa e-visa: If Australian nationals want to visit more than one country in East Africa with a single visa, this is the ideal e-visa for them to travel between Uganda, Rwanda and Kenya. This visa is valid for 3 months from the date of issuance and allows travelers for a stayover within 90 days in total.

Related Articles